National Webinar on Materials Characterization (NWMC-2023) 6th -10th February, 2023



COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING
(AUTONOMOUS)
(Approved by AICTE, Affiliated to Andhra University)



Organized by
Department of Physics,
Gayatri Vidya Parishad
College of Engineering(A),
Madhurawada, Visakhapatnam-48, India.
Website: www.gvpce.ac.in

Faculty, research scholars and students are invited to attend the online webinar. The webinar consists of invited talks by eminent scientists and academicians of India focussing on various materials characterization techniques.

About GVP College of Engineering:

The Gavatri Vidva Parishad College of Engineering [GVPCE] had its humble beginning in December 1996 with 4 branches and 200 in take established under the parent society Gayatri Vidya Parishad (GVP), a non-profit making organization comprising of noted educationists and eminent philanthropists who have a missionary zeal to provide quality technical education. Since then, the college has very quickly established itself as one of the mostpreferred self-financing engineering colleges in Andhra Pradesh and now offering 10 B.Tech Programs, 5 M.Tech and one MCA Program approved by AICTE with an intake of 1290. The College is currently affiliated to Andhra University.

- NAAC The College has been accredited by NAAC twice with "A" grade with a CGPA of 3.47/4.00.
- NBA All BTech programs accredited at least twice.
- UGC The college is sanctioned "Autonomous" status by the UGC and conferred by the affiliating University, JNT University, Kakinada in 2009. Inclusion under 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act, 1956. The status of autonomy is further extended by UGC up to 2025.
- NIRF The college is ranked within top 250 institutes in Engineering Category under the coveted National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) consecutively for five years.

About the Department:

Department of Physics at GVP College of Engineering was established in the year 1996. The department has highly qualified faculty members and experienced from diverse research areas. Presently there are 7 faculty in Physics department out of which 6 faculty are PhD holders. Three faculty are guiding PhD scholars of different universities. Recently three students were awarded Ph.D under the guidance of two Physics faculty.

Centre for Nanoscience and Technology was founded in 2010 in the Physics department with seed money of Rs. 5 Lakhs from the institution. This centre aims to facilitate fabrication and characterization tools for fundamental research on various nanomaterials and nanodevices in support with academic and industrial partners. The lab is equipped with facilities like Thermal evaporation unit, Ultrasonicator. **Programmable** high temperature furnaces, vacuum oven, Magnetic stirrers. Microwave oven, electronic balance, sol-gel dip coating for the preparation of various nanopowders and thin films. Besides, UV-VIS double beam spectrophotometer, Fiber Optic spectrophotometer, LCZ analyser, etc for characterization of the prepared nanomaterials. the faculty could able to receive grants from various Govt. agencies such as SERB, BRNS, UGC of worth around Rs. 50 Lakhs. With these lab facilities, the faculty have published many papers in reputed Journals and presented papers in conferences. B. Tech, M. Tech and Ph.D students have been using these lab facilities for their work.

Objectives of the Webinar

This Webinar focusses on structural, morphological and compositional analysis of a broad range of materials. The lectures emphasize on the interpretation of the XRD, GIIXRD, HRXRD, DXS, XRR, SEM, TEM, and XPS data along with concepts and instrumentation details. It helps participants to extract valuable information from the data or images and correlate the structure with material properties. The participants can design, synthesize and optimize process parameters for better materials performance.

Chief Patron:

Prof. Dr. Ing. P. Srinivasa Rao, President, GVP

Patrons:

Sri. D. Dakshina Murthy, Vice-President, GVP Prof. K.P.R. Sastry, Vice-President, GVP Prof. P. Soma Raju, Secretary, GVP

Chairman:

Prof. A.B. Koteswara Rao, Principal

Organizing Secretary:

Dr. S.K. Tripathy, H.O.D., Dept., of Physics

Chief Guest:

Prof. A. Subrahmanyam, Distinguished Professor, GVPCE

Convener:

Dr. B. Nagarjun, Asst. Professor

Co-Convener:

Dr. Ch. Rajesh, Asst. Professor

Members:

Dr. R. Praveena, Assoc. Professor

Dr. P.V. Rajeswari, Asst. Professor

Sri. P.S.S. Appalacharyulu, Asst. Professor

Dr. N.S.S.V. Raja Rao, Asst. Professor

Speakers:



Prof. G. Bhagavannarayana
Dean Research, VSMGI,
Ramachandrapuram,A.P
Ex-Director, IIIT, RGUKT, AP
Ex- Chief scientist & Professor, and Head
Crystal Growth & X-ray Analysis activity
CSIR-NPL, New Delhi



Dr. Ashok Kumar
Associate Professor,
Department of Applied Sciences,
National Institute of Technical Teachers
Training and Research (NITTTR),
Chandigarh



Prof. Sanjeev Kumar
Professor,
Applied Science Department,
Punjab Engineering College
(Deemed to be University)
Chandigarh.



Dr. Ahin Roy Assistant Professor, Material Science Centre, IIT Kharagpur.

Registration Fee:

Faculty: Rs. 200/-

Scholars / Students: Rs. 100/-

Pay to:

A/C No. 191912010000247

Name: HOD PHYSICS DEPT GVPCE A

Branch: Union Bank of India, Kommadi,

Visakhapatnam

IFSC CODE: UBIN0819191

Note:

The participants shall upload the scanned copy or screen shot of bank acknowledgement in the folder provided in registration form to complete the registration process.

Registration Link:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLS eTalzXaqmifkVednoImItA4_EkLkAm7RH21 Hstg7rJLkJkxA/viewform?usp=sf_link

OR

Scan this code to open the registration form



Session Timings:

2:30 to 4:30 pm (All Days)

All talks will be delivered via Google meet.

For any enquiry call

1. Dr. B. Nagarjun: 9848223395(WA)

8309909757

mail id: au.nagarjun@gvpce.ac.in

2. Dr. Ch. Rajesh: 9441063672 mail id: rajesh8112@gypce.ac.in